Press Box

‘Roaders Down Hogs, Continue Win Streak

06/29/2019 10:34 PM

Article By:

GRAND PRAIRIE, Tex. (June 29, 2019) – The Cleburne Railroaders hit three home runs for a second straight night and held the Texas AirHogs to just two singles, cruising to a 10-0 win on Saturday night at AirHogs Stadium. The victory is the fifth in a row for the Railroaders, moving Cleburne into sole possession of second place in the South Division.

Eudis Idrogo (2-3) was excellent on the mound for Cleburne, tossing five shutout innings while striking out eight and walking three. He danced around a bases-loaded, nobody out jam in the fourth with a fly out and two strikeouts, and the Railroaders bullpen fired four scoreless innings without allowing a hit. At one point, Cleburne pitchers retired 16 consecutive Texas hitters.

The Railroaders (21-20) seized a 1-0 lead in the third courtesy of a solo home run from Zach Nehrir. Chase Simpson then connected for a solo shot of his own in the sixth, an inning in which Cleburne added two more runs on a Logan Trowbridge RBI single and a bases-loaded walk by K.C. Huth.

Cleburne pushed the lead out to 7-0 in the seventh on a three-run bomb from Hunter Clanin that left AirHogs Stadium entirely, soaring over the Sports Bar and Grill in left field for Clanin’s fifth home run of the season.

Simpson added an RBI double in the eighth to make it 8-0, then Daniel Robertson and Nehrir drove home runs in the ninth to help the Railroaders reach double-digit runs for the fifth time this season.

Gan Quan (0-4) took the loss for Texas, allowing four runs on six hits over five innings of work.

The Railroaders and AirHogs continue their series on Sunday afternoon with game three of the set. First pitch is scheduled for 2:05 PM, with right-hander Stephen Johnson (1-0, 3.60) getting the ball for Cleburne. Texas will counter with fellow righty Travis Ballew (1-4, 3.48).

For information on partnerships, season tickets, group outings, and party packages, call the Railroaders main office at (817) 945-8705, or visit the Railroaders official website at

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »